Need help figuring out my running strategy (Read 166 times)

Heidi P

Hi,

I'm new to running but in relatively good shape physically. I spin 4x per week and do some strength training at least 3x per week. I'm 39 years old. I run maybe 2x per week and it's just 2 or 3 miles here and there. I ran my first 5k in March in 26:30. I ran a 5 mile race in May in 42:19. I finished my 4th 5k last week in 24:28. I started running as a means of supplementing my other workouts but I'm really enjoying it. It takes every bit of effort to run with those times, though. I am absolutely pushing it to the limit and can barely breathe when I finish, yet alone carry on a conversation. I'm sure this sounds crazy, but I don't know how to slow myself down. My legs feel like I can keep going at that pace even when my chest is begging me to take it easy. My body doesn't feel sore when I finish but I'm completely out of breathe.

I don't know whether to keep going at that pace and wait for my body to adjust, try to slow myself down, add distance, whatever...I'd like to try a 10k in the fall and I know I'll need to make time to run more frequently. Any suggestions? Should I focus on making it through a 5k with ease before adding distance?

Not dead. Yet.

It takes every bit of effort to run with those times, though. I am absolutely pushing it to the limit and can barely breathe when I finish, yet alone carry on a conversation. I'm sure this sounds crazy, but I don't know how to slow myself down. My legs feel like I can keep going at that pace even when my chest is begging me to take it easy. My body doesn't feel sore when I finish but I'm completely out of breathe.

That sounds spot on for a race.  When racing you should be pushing yourself to the limit.  No talking allowed!