Garmin Forerunner 220: watch distance vs map distance (Read 77 times)

James Logan

I've been uploading my garmin data to running ahead for a few months now, and I've noticed that when I look at the map of my run after I've uploaded it, the map will say that I've run farther than my watch will say that I have.  For example, my watch will say I've run 6 miles, but the map of the run that I uploaded says I've run 6.2.  I know this isn't a significant difference, but I would like to know which one is more accurate.  Thanks!

an amazing likeness

The difference between Garmin and RA's distances should be about 2%.  Most of the GPSes if not all use a simpler formula to calculate distance between two points on a sphere.  The earth is not a sphere.  RA's formula accounts for that and tend to provide a slightly different number.  One can argue that either  is accurate.

eric Smile

The device records data points.

The software on the device then calculates distance from those data points.

The RA map also works through the same data points and calculates total distance.

End result is two different numbers.

RA has move computational power available, and an algorithm that doesn't have to fit in the firmware of the Forerunner.

I'd bet on RA.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

Fredford66

Waltons ThreadLord

I wonder whether either method takes into account vertical distance as well.  Is distance straight line point to point at sea level, or does it truly measure the number of miles of pavement you've traveled up and down hills?

5k 23:48.45 (3/22); 4M 31:26 (2/22); 5M 38:55 (11/23); 10k 49:24 (10/22); 
        10M 1:29:33 (2/24); Half 1:48:32 (10/22); Marathon 4:29:58 (11/23)

Upcoming races: RunAPalooza (Asbury Park) HM, 4/6; Clinton Country Run 15k, 4/27

an amazing likeness

Excerpt from an excellent explanation...