New Runner - Building a Base? (Read 157 times)

Mriley16

New member here and I have been enjoying reading through the forums and hopefully benefitting from the wealth of experience here. One thing I keep seeing pop up as advice for newer runners is to make sure to build a solid base for running. I take this to mean, generally speakng, that before one begins actual race training there should be a significant period of time dedicated to strength building and body conditioning through easy runs while gradually upping your weekly mileage. This gets your body adjusted to the rigors of running and reduces your risk of injury going forward. Again, generally speaking, this all makes perfect sense to me. I just have a few questions regarding my specific situation...

I am an Army veteran, so I am not a complete newbie when it comes to running. However I was plagued with overuse injuries (shin splints, plantar fascitis, etc.) throughout my career so I’m convinced I never truly built a base. I have started and stopped running a few times in the past few years due to recurring shin splints so this time I was determined to stick it out and do it right. I have lost 35+ lbs, started with very low miles and began paying very close attention to my lower body weight lifting routine, then gradually I have been increasing my weekly miles and I’m up to around 19-20 miles/week now. I’m doing pretty much exclusively easy runs, no intervals hills or fartleks yet. I am eyeing a 10k trail race in October as my short term goal and a half-marathon trail race the folllowing year as a longish term goal (reading this site has me believing I can run a marathon someday...) I suppose I am running short on training time for this 10k, but I’d like to know how do I know that my base is good enough to start punching up the miles and really training in earnest? Also, do I need a whole new period of “base building” to prepare for the next race, and the next, so on...?