Guess what? I'm a newbie!! (Read 796 times)

Hey everyone, I've just found this site and I've got to say I think it's amazing! I've been reading some of the posts on here and a few journals and it's so inspiring reading about all your successes - I'm very jealous and can't wait til I can run for as long and as far as you guys!! Anyway, getting to the point - I'm a new runner (literally went for my first run today and LOVED it) and I've got a few questions (surprise surprise!): 1. I've read on lots of different sites that carbs should be a runner's main source of energy, but I *hate* carby foods - I don't eat bread, rice, or potatoes, and get bored of pasta really easily (ie I can only have it once a week) - so is there anything else I can try to up my carb intake, or does it not matter as much as I think? I eat really healthily other than that, I just naturally have a low-carb diet. Any advice would be really appreciated, thanks. 2. A more technical question, but possibly easier to answer - when I'm creating a new course in my training log, the mouse cursor disappears when I put it over the map. I can see it anywhere else on the page but it makes it really hard to create an accurate map! Anyone else have this problem? Any computery people able to suggest anything to stop this? Thanks in advance for all your help!! Debbie x

#artbydmcbride

There's always cake, cookies, pancakes and waffles! Big grin Oh and fruits and vegetables. Congratulations on your first ever run.

Runners run

I wouldnt worry about it much right now......if your just startiing out.......if you get up there in mileage and start training for long races (1.2 Marathon and Marathon) then you might want to reconsider your diet but for the immdiate future my feeliings are that it won't make much difference.

Champions are made when no one is watching

Thank you, that's helped put my mind to rest - good to know that I'm not going to collapse and die for not liking pasta!!

Hoping to Run Again :-(