Missing maps on older workouts imported from Forerunner 305 (Read 444 times)

Hi folks,

I've been using a Garmin Forerunner 305 since the start of 2009, and I imported all my workouts a few weeks ago and started working my way backwards, entering more data and whatnot. When I got back about a month, the workouts stopped having maps associated with them, which is making it hard to know what the workout was. I do have all the data stored on my Mac in the Garmin Training Center app (which seems absolutely worthless), and I'm trying to figure out the best way to proceed.

I don't really need the map data in RA for these workouts - I was just coming back from surgery, so they're short and relatively non-specific. But I'd sort of like to fill things in so the Workouts page is more complete and get equipment data entered and whatnot. I could just go back and forth with GTC and RA for each workout and manually figure out what the workout was. Or, I could try deleting the workouts from RA and reimporting just those workouts before April 21st (which seems like a fair amount work on its own, given that GTC won't export a subset of data, just the whole shebang).

Any suggestions? It's not really a huge deal - I'm just data-retentive. Wink

cheers... -Adam

ymmv

As the 305 (and 205 and 405) starts to run low on free memory to store new run data, it deletes the map data from the older runs. The watch is not the best place to archive data.

As I recall, Garmin Training Center (GTC) on the MAC does not have the option to export one workout at a time, just 'everything'.

You might try:

1. export everything and save that file to ensure that you have a safe copy of it all. Don't lose this file!

2. delete from GTC, all the of workouts except the one you want the map data from.

3. Now export 'everything' (which is now only one run) and you should be able to upload that file to RA.

4. import your big archive file you saved back into GTC

5. go to step 2