Newbie to Racing (Read 118 times)

pedaling fool

I'm somewhat new to running and completely new to running at race events. I will be running my first race in Jacksonville, Fl at the 15K Gate River Run (March 9, 2013). I was looking at previous times and noticed there are two finish times: Chip Time & Gun Pace.

What is that all about? Even the top finisher had a difference of one second, but if you look down the list the difference gets significantly larger. So which time takes precedent?

Here's the list from 2012   http://www.gate-riverrun.com/grr12ageres.htm

Also, those split times, are they determined by the chip?

Everyone's gun time starts when the gun is fired.  Chip time starts when a person crosses the starting line.  For instance, if you start at the back of the pack in a big race, it could take a minute or two before you get to the actual starting line.  If it takes 1:22 from the time the gun is fired until you cross the starting line, there will be a difference of 1:22 between your gun time and chip time.

pedaling fool

Everyone's gun time starts when the gun is fired.  Chip time starts when a person crosses the starting line.  For instance, if you start at the back of the pack in a big race, it could take a minute or two before you get to the actual starting line.  If it takes 1:22 from the time the gun is fired until you cross the starting line, there will be a difference of 1:22 between your gun time and chip time.

OK, thanks, but I got another stupid newbie question. Why have a "Gun Time"?

ilanarama

Pace Prophet

The reason for gun times is so that actual racing can be done against others, not just the clock.  Most races award OA finish medals based on gun time, so that if you cross the finish line first, you WILL be the winner - even if someone else started 5 seconds behind you and finished 2 seconds behind you (beating your chip time by 3 seconds).

an amazing likeness