The 38 year comeback! (Read 102 times)

mjhaston

I ran through middle school, high school and 2 years of college before dropping out.  Once I didn't have a team to train with anymore, I pretty much fell off.  I remember running a 10K around 1991 at my old high school, but that was it.  Back in college in 1984 I weighed around 140 lbs.  Fast forward to 2020 I found myself at 207 lbs and doing absolutely nothing physical.  I'm a software engineer and always had a 1-2 hour commute each way, so I sat a good 12 hours per day.

In 2020 I finally joined a gym that has 45 minute classes, 5 day / week and an accompanying nutrition program.  The food program is just sensible eating.  No fads or BS.  Just eating good food, in the right portions at the right times.  I dropped from 207 to 180 lbs during my first 10 week challenge and then dropped another 10-15 lbs.  

Feeling stronger and lighter, but still a good 35 lbs heavier than college, I decided to "jog" a bit.  I ran about 10 miles per week for 3 weeks and joined a local 5K.  The last time I had run a 5K or 10K, 31 - 38 years ago, I was running around a 5:10 pace on hilly courses.  I ran my only marathon in 1983 at a 6:30 pace, so in my head I was thinking surely I could keep my old marathon pace for a 5K race!  Haha, nope.  Not even close!  I had absolutely no idea what I was in for!  I ran 26:15 (8:27 pace) on a relatively flat course and wanted to quit most of the way!  Guys pushing strollers were blowing past me!