Is my plan to win a 7km race good enough? (Read 132 times)

NickJrII

I am 17 and have an athletic body. Up until now, I've trained only through squats, push-ups, crunches once every 2 days for the past 2 years (200 each ). I have 2 months to prepare. I aim to be in top 5 out of 200. Difficulty, discomfort are not a problem. I am new to running so any advice from experienced runners will. I have no idea about strategies for running plans: when to schedule recovery, better ways to do it, maybe do one week 4 km, next week 3km to recover, etc. Here is my plan:

First month:

Morning:

In the morning I plan to adjust my body to the distance of 7 km.

day 1,2,3-3km day 4-rest

day 5,6,7-3.5km day 8-rest

day 9,10,11-4km, day 12-rest

So on until I reach 7 km(one month)

Afternoon:

In the afternoon I plan to train my body's speed and endurance, so that I arrive in the top.

Thrice a week- Speed-conditioning workout http://www.mensfitness.com/training/endurance/speed-conditioning-workout

Daily: 3 full 10 seconds sprints (with rest of 10 seconds in between)

Second month:

Morning

I will be doing a 7 km run every day, increasing speed every 4 days

Afternoon

I will  be doing same routine as month 1

Here's my advice,

Most of the time if you're new to running you're better off running 30-40 Miles/week at a easy to moderate pace with one workout (less than 3 miles) in there and one long (run 8+) and a day off.  My Experience with plans is that they don't last, much like a diet, you're better off planning out a week by week training plan and evaluating where you are at that way. Sometimes plans are too easy or too hard.