Son suddenly having health issues while running (Read 220 times)

Darcy Zara

Health Blog Writer

No reason provided
    CommanderKeen

Cobra Commander Keen

I'm no medical professional, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn last night, but since his symptoms ONLY show while running and disappear soon after, it seems to me that he needs to be observed/tested while running on a treadmill in a medical setting. That's really the only way to recreate the conditions leading to his symptoms.

5k: 17:58 11/22 │ 10k: 37:55 9/21 │ HM: 1:23:22 4/22 │ M: 2:56:05 12/22

Upcoming Races:

OKC Memorial 5k - April 27

Bun Run 5k - May 4

runnershawn

Cardiac check?  try to find a sports cardio doc in your area

Hello everyone, ran across this forum while trying to find how to help my son.  My son is 17 and started out having a fantastic season in HS Cross Country.  He was doing well in both practices and competitions finishing near the top and feeling good before, during and after all his runs.  Then suddenly about 2 weeks ago something changed drastically.

Now he cant run a mile without being exhausted and feeling really nauseous.  Says when he starts out, he already feels like he has run 8-10 miles.  His legs are already heavy in the first few minutes of his run.  The oddest thing is that even though he eats a small snack an hour before he runs, the moment he starts running he feels full...like he just ate an entire meal.  This passes in the first few minutes of his run but then instead he says he feels like he is starving and has no energy.  His speed and endurance have completely disappeared.

We have done multiple blood tests, we have checked iron, mono, ferritin, thyroid, gluclose, and several things I didnt recognize.

Nothing in his diet, routine or otherwise health has changed.  He typically feels fine except for these issues when he runs.  He is rarely sick.