Daniels M Pace (Read 887 times)

I'm thinking about using Daniels to train for the 5k and a couple of half marathons in 2013, so I've been trying to read his book all the way through, which I've never done before. So far it has been really cool and I think a Daniels-inspired plan would fit my temperament pretty well. But I am really confused by his comments about marathon pace. My most recent 5k gives me a VDOT of 51-52, which gives me an M pace of 7:02-7:09. This actually sounds somewhat reasonable when I think about training for and racing a marathon - that is, it's probably about what I could run with optimal preparation. But there is no way that I could do a training run at this pace, especially one close to 90 minutes, which seems to be what he calls for. Without competition and during a heavy week of training, that would be practically race-effort for me past maybe an hour, and even that would not be remotely comfortable. Yet he states that M pace is not much harder than E pace for most runners (this might not be exactly how he puts it - I don't have the book in front of me) and that you might feel good dropping down to M pace during an easy run when you are feeling particularly strong. For me, that 'fast easy' pace is nowhere near 7 flat - it's more like 7:20-7:25. Is this just a question of me needing more miles and more aerobic strength, or is M pace actually as aggressive as it sounds? 

It's pretty aggressive.

You might be surprised at what you can do. I don't have the second edition of his book, where is 90 minutes at M pace? Which plan are you looking at? I think if you could run a marathon at a pace, 90 minutes should be doable. It isn't an easy workout.

If you've got a big difference in half and 5K times, think about using the vdot for the half at first.