how to treat shin pain (Read 600 times)

She-Rah

Greetings! I am wondering if anyone knows what is the best treatment - in addition to rest - for shin pain. I do not know that I have shin splints per se. What I do know is that I can trail run (up to 14 miles this season so far) on rocky and steep terrain with no issue. When I try to run on flats these days (road OR dirt road OR trail) my shins start hurting within about 10 minutes. I have tried The Stick but wonder if it might be the culprit. I have also tried contrast baths (hot/cold for about 2 minutes each for about 30-40 minutes total). Today I almost DNFed (did not finish) a 10-mile trail race because my shins hurt so bad I had to stop. A mature runner said the logical thing to do would be to stop. I am planning to a 25-mile this year and didn't want to screw up so I did something I've never done before in a race. I started walking back to the starting line. Just then I saw a familiar and friendly face. A woman who is building back up from surgery. I decided a slow race was better than a DNF. Within about 10 minutes of walking and light jogging with her I felt good to go again. The course turned from dirt road to rocky trail (elev. gain/loss about 2500 feet) and I went for it. I passed more than 30 people and finished within 6 minutes of my best time. I think it strange that I can pull it out on the downhill running with minimal discomfort but the flats are getting me. I should mention that earlier this season the flats were fine... so I'm guessing I overdid it somewhere along the way. But what to do? massage? The Stick? contrast baths? arnica? Help?
      I ice twice a day for 15 minutes each time. I am prone to shin splints.
      Tony Evans