1st Marathon Training Plan Advice (Read 1646 times)

ud32

I've been running fairly consistently for past 5 years. I've completed 5 half marathons over the past few years and am considering training for a November Marathon - about 17 weeks away. I'm seeking advice on two things:

1) How much of a mileage base do I need ? The past 52 weeks I've averaged 17 miles/week, past 6 months 18 and past 3 months avg 19 miles a week.

2) If I have enough base is there a popular 1st timer training program ? I've used a few programs for other distances from a book I have Runner's Handbook by Bob Glover and Shelly-lynn Florence Glover. There are two first timer programs in there - one builds from a 15/week base and one from a 20/week base.

Thanks

stadjak

Interval Junkie --Nobby

Caveat Precipio: I just ran my first marathon in the Spring.

There are many first-timer programs out there.  Hal Higdon's is very popular, leading to a lot of happy 1st time finishers.

Generally, the first-timer programs get you up to 35-40mpw.

BTW: I really enjoyed the "Competitive Runner's Handbook" by Glover & Glover -- a comprehensive book and a great read.

Good luck in your first.  Which one are you considering running? 

2021 Goals: 50mpw 'cause there's nothing else to do

I've been running fairly consistently for past 5 years. I've completed 5 half marathons over the past few years and am considering training for a November Marathon - about 17 weeks away. I'm seeking advice on two things:

1) How much of a mileage base do I need ? The past 52 weeks I've averaged 17 miles/week, past 6 months 18 and past 3 months avg 19 miles a week.

2) If I have enough base is there a popular 1st timer training program ? I've used a few programs for other distances from a book I have Runner's Handbook by Bob Glover and Shelly-lynn Florence Glover. There are two first timer programs in there - one builds from a 15/week base and one from a 20/week base.

Thanks