Anybody coach baskeball? (Read 410 times)

Village people

I volunteered to help with a grade 3&4 team and the rec department made me head coach.  I have no experience and I have only watched basketball on TV. There is an online program that  I will do, but does anyone have any advice?  I feel bad for the kids, they deserve a better coach.

Thanks. 

Yes, that age was the last time I helped coach my son's team.

First, much of practice should be spent on the fundamentals of passing/catching, passing/catching while running, and dribbling.

Second, you don't need fancy plays. Give and go and pick and roll are basic and they work.  If your kids can learn those basic things and do it without turn overs, you'll do just fine.

Third, play everyone, even if they aren't good.

Village people

Thanks. We have only 7 kids, so they will all play. I just want them to have fun and learn a few things.

One other tip I heard from my brother-n-law who coaches his son's team (also that age) is this... and this is somewhat controversial...

When doing layups, he teaches his kids to do a jump-stop/shoot rather than trying to shoot while running full steam. He does this for two reasons: 1) the kid shooting normally doesn't have the body and ball control to gently shoot the ball, so normally they miss the shot.  2) if there is a defender, they likely run past the person shooting because they aren't expecting the shooter to stop and shoot.   

Now, you might have some parents bawk at this idea, but he says it works. Since kids want to make baskets, this will increase their enjoyment because they'll make more shots.

Ultra Cowboy

My only experience was Coaching BBall team of 7th grade girls...Yeah that was rough.  I might consider 3rd grade if I do it again.  Just mainly fundamentals as was mentioned before. 

WYBMADIITY

Save

First, much of practice should be spent on the fundamentals of passing/catching, passing/catching while running, and dribbling.