Speeding Heart Rate (Read 745 times)

Okay, I'm getting quite frusterated. I read the percentages of what my heart rate is supposed to be for someone my age (18), but I find that all of my runs would be considered too high to be aerobic. I am quite slow, so I don't see how I could go any slower. I have been running for a couple of years, so I don't see how I am in bad shape. I am worried that all of my training is just being wasted because I'm pushing hard all of the time. I used the 220-8 time .5 from runner's world formula. My easy runs I usually get about 180 hr, and on hard days i'll hit over 200! What should I do?
    Kate ;) "The pain of regret is greater than the pain of self discipline."
    Mile Collector

Abs of Flabs

You should stop measuring your HR Clowning around Seriously, you could be one of 'em folks with a higher max heart rate than the rest of us. A better rule of thumb is to gauge how hard it is for you to talk while running. If you can carry on a conversation, then you're running easy. If you have to catch your breath every few words, then you're probably at a tempo pace. As always, you should consult your doctor before pushing yourself over 200 on a regular basis.
      Scout7