Newbie Advice/Help (Read 46 times)

Run2323

Hello All ,

I am new to running.  Just looking for some advice, suggestions, and even do's and don'ts based on what I am doing now.  I will give a quick backdrop.  Any advice is most welcome!

I am 39 years old.  I recently (May 1st) quit smoking and decided to change a lot in my life and one of the things was exercise.  I quickly realized when I quit smoking I had to fill a major void in my life and about a week after I went for a walk and have not looked back.  For the past 4 months (minus 1 week i was really sick) I walk 5x/week.  Its 3 miles roughly.   I started just walking and about a month ago I was up to walking about 35% of it and jogging 65% of it.  Endurance seemed to be getting better but lately it seems to have decreased randomly and it has hurt my motivation a little bit. When i started just the walks I was about 300 lbs.  I have lost 60 pounds in the 4 months and am currently 240.  I am 6-1 in height.  Pretty much all my weight now is in my stomach.  I wonder if i just went to quick & fast too soon.  Not really sure.  I enjoy it way more than I ever thought I would and currently have not changed anything in my diet expect limiting soda intake to 1/day -- this was a big issue for me along with smoking.  Plan is early next year (Jan 1) to start changing diet habits too , i just feared doing too much too quickly (smoking, soda, eating habits all at once) would be a bad idea for several reasons.

Look forward to some advice, tips, pointers etc very much

thanks !

Congrats on the changes - definitely not easy tasks. Count me as another quitter who filled the void with exercise.

Many times, the answer to "I wonder if i just went to quick & fast too soon." is yes. Maybe back off a little or maybe just go back to walking for a week and then slowly ramp back up. Maybe try the Couch to 5K program to help you start out slower.