American River Newbie (Read 253 times)

jennifernd

I'm running the AR50 in 21 days (not that I'm counting or anything), and I have tried to look up answers to my questions, but I still have a few questions.

Just a little background: I've been a newbie Ultra runner since 2010. I've done TNF 50K in SF twice, and Bull Dog once. I just completed my 3rd Catalina Marathon last weekend, and have done 5 other marathons since 2009, and approx. 20+ half marathons since 2008. I have competed in triathlon since 2003, and have completed over 30.

Needless to say, this is my first 50, and the distance doesn't frighten me, and I'm 100% aware of my lack of speediness. I don't remotely look like an ultra runner as I've had the same 25 lbs to lose for a few years now, but I keep on running, and with a smile. I am given 13 hours to finish, and my goal is to have a great time and finish before 13 hours 1 minute (Most of my pace calculators show I can finish in 10:58, but my goal is to just finish).

My question is this: I train and live in the San Gabriel Valley, and I love hilly races, yet I chose this race for my first 50 since it's moderately flat. In reality, can someone with knowledge of this course tell me how flat it actually is, and should I change shoes at the Beals Point rest stop/bag drop?

Any suggestions, knowledge, comments, words of wisdom are very much welcome and appreciated. 

Cheers!

Jennifer

xor

It is 20 miles on flat(ish) paved bike trail, followed by a not-too-technical but definitely roly poly 50k trail run.  Note that you pick up the single track right after you cross a dam and about 5-6 miles BEFORE Beal.

I changed shoes at Beal last year.  I probably didn't need to do that... the second half had pretty good footing mostly, and I'm sure road shoes would be fine.  IF the weather has been fine.  It was very fine in 2011. There were a few muddy sections, though, and I bet this would be a bigger deal in rainy conditions.

Anyway, specific to hills: