What's up with my leg? (Read 798 times)

smeyer81

Hello everyone; I am new to "Running Ahead" so I hope you all don't think this is weird! Blush But anyway here we go. I have always wanted to be a runner. I recently started a program I read about in Self magazine whereby I am supposedly going to be able to run for 30 mins straight in a matter of about 8-10 weeks. It is based on intervals, like walk 5 min, run 2 mins, repeat. that is "week one." Herein lies the problem: I am still stuck in week one, not because of my endurance, but because of my darn leg. I get this uncomfortable pain in my right shin (only the right one) I think they call it "shin splints", despite any streching or warm up I do before I run. I feel like I can really keep going, but sometimes my leg hurts so much that I worry I may injure myself or something. Does anyone relate to this? How long can I expect this to last? What can I do? Any help you can offer would be appreciated!
      I can relate! I'm not a beginner beginner, but still a beginner in the world of running. I get shin splints, too. On www.runnersworld.com under "Injury" there is some information on shin splints. Basically, they are a muscular thing so the more warmed up you can be, the usually get better into the run and then fade because the muscle is all warmed up. After you cool down, though, they hurt again. Running through the pain will probably lead to this phase where it doesn't hurt, but be carefu because too much running can transfer the shock to the bone and cause a stress fracture. A lot of runners get them, especially when not used to running the mileage, and it seems like after a while they don't happen because you're body is used to the pounding. My guess is every time you walk, you're body cools down so you never get past the pain...but that doesn't mean you should just keep running despite the pain just to see if it gets better. My doctor gave me a serious of stretches for the calf, like lunging against a walkk with