Anyone got the new Forerunner 405? (Read 996 times)

I just got one today, and I'm still learning how to use it. I have never had a running watch. One thing I do not like is Garmin's lack of direction in terms of how to set up the wireless sync software. They tell you to go online, but they don't tell you what you need to download. The 405 is not even listed in the device drivers section. I finally ended up looking in their support section and seem to have found the software needed. I was relieved to find it but soon further frustrated when the install program failed with the error "Out of Memory." I am thoroughly confused because my pc had 3 GB of RAM...looks like despite the delays in releasing this product, they still didn't get things right in terms of software. Has anyone else been successful in getting the 405 up and running? Any tips?
    2010 Goals: Run 1500 miles Sub 22 minute 5K Sub 37 minute 8K Sub 1:45 HM Complete a marathon

Imminent Catastrophe

I just got one. I haven't had trouble installing the software as you described but I've had other problems like workouts disappearing after I'd downloaded them and other glitches. I do think that Garmin software in general is pretty poor. I have had quick response from their support so you might want to try that. Otherwise I would say use some other software. I use ascent (for Mac) but others on RA seem to like motionbased and some others.

"Able to function despite imminent catastrophe"

"To obtain the air that angels breathe you must come to Tahoe"--Mark Twain

"The most common question from potential entrants is 'I do not know if I can do this' to which I usually answer, 'that's the whole point'.--Paul Charteris, Tarawera Ultramarathon RD.

√ Javelina Jundred Jalloween 2015

Cruel Jewel 50 mile May 2016

Western States 100 June 2016

I've had other problems like workouts disappearing after I'd downloaded them and other glitches.