My $18 Walmart Starter Pro Wear Test (Read 366 times)

Short version. Bought them Saturday for $18 wore them for my runs Monday, Tuesday and this morning and I will likely wear them tonight on a 10-11 miler. Feel great. No issues other than I should have bought a half size smaller.

Long version. I've been wearing Puma FAAS 550 since July 2012 pretty much exclusively other than flirting with a pair of go runs for a couple months until I lost one of them (I love the go runs). I am a 5'9" 175 lb neutral runner who prefers a minimal shoe with as small a heel toe drop as possible. (When I was only logging 45-55 miles a week I would take out my insoles to get closer to the ground, now, with my current mileage, my knees and feet  demand that I leave them in.) I need a new pair of Pumas badly but my wife tells me I have to wait. Last week was a 70 mile week for me and on Saturday my left knee and right foot were killing me. Since my daughter and I were heading to Walmart to get her a bathing suit, I grabbed a pair of fluorescent lime green running shoes that seemed really light and neutral but that had a little bit thicker sole than I'm used to, but for $18 I was willing to take the chance.

As mentioned above, the shoes are fine... a big toe box and seemingly much more cushioning than I am used to. My right foot felt better almost immediately and oddly enough my left knee feels as good as it has since I tweaked it back in October.  So that's good. I don't love the shoes but I like them a lot and a lot better than many more expensive shoes I've bought. After I get my new 550s, I'll probably swap this shoe out a couple times a week for my junk mile runs to save wear and tear.