Do speed laces make your legs hurt? (Read 1068 times)

I bought a pair of speed laces to put on my shoes to try out for a triathlon I'm doing this weekend. I've been for 2 short runs in them, and I've noticed that during or after these runs, my shins have been hurting A LOT worse than they have been in the recent past. A little history: I've had shin splints for what seems like an eternity. I finished 6 weeks of PT recently, and wasn't having any major problems (just some soreness, not really shin splint pain). Then I started running a little more (not a lot- I don't think I'm overdoing it) without mishap, then the tried the laces and started having some pain. Confused Anybody have any problems with your shins after using speed laces (or changing the way you tie your shoes)?
    Scout7

Never in my shins, and not from speed laces. Could be your shoes need replaced. Could be you didn't think you were overdoing it, but still did. Could be the laces.

Running Dad

First I'm no expert but here goes, Could be you're tying the laces too tight. I had this problem for a while before I realized what it was. Try Loosening them as much as possible, enough to keep your shoes on, and see how that goes.
        Things to do this year:
        Not get an injury
        Things done this year:
        Bi-Lo 5k(Myrtle Beach) : 02.12.10 - 25:??
        xor

If I tie my shoes too tightly or incorrectly, I have pain in the top of my feet. When my shoes go bad, I have pain in my knees. Shins? I doubt that's lacing.

RunAsics

The Limping Jogger

If I tie my shoes too tightly or incorrectly, I have pain in the top of my feet. When my shoes go bad, I have pain in my knees. Shins? I doubt that's lacing.
            Unless the original lacing system was a key part of the shoe's support.... A loose shoe will often not provide the level of support the shoe is designed to offer. If you need support and the shoe isn't offering it, you can get shin splints.