Two back-to-back marathon training cycles, similar training: what happened? (Read 973 times)

Why is it sideways?

Someone on here posted a really good article/blog a while back about training cycles with a metaphor of gears in a car...anyone still have that link?

I think you might be referring to this: "The Runner's Cycle of Suffering, and How to Break It."

joescott

Sept 2012:  2:51

Then different, much more purposeful training, higher mileage, more intensity ==>

Dec 2012:  3:09

Things can also go drastically wrong, even when you try to do everything right.  But I still feel in my soul, although I won't have another chance to prove it for a while, that the changes in training took me several minutes faster in capability.

- Joe

We are fragile creatures on collision with our judgment day.

runmomto3boys

Thanks, guys!  I appreciate all the feedback.  I'm not sure what my goal is yet b/c I just started training this week!  I hope to knock a lil something off, though Wink

If you had a really solid cycle where you trained hard, got in the miles, etc., ran a marathon, then did it all over again and had yet another good training cycle, say, w/in 6 months or so of the first race, how much did you improve your time?   

I'm curious.  I see a lot of people who drop mad time from one cycle to the next, but there are lots of other factors at play (i.e., they up their mileage considerably, lose a lot of weight, or start doing speed work when they had not done any prior).  Obviously the two training cycles in question won't be identical, but assuming that you trained similarly as hard for both, I am wondering how much you improved, personally.  If you fit the description, I'm interested in hearing about how much time you slashed off your PR. (I'm not asking you to guess what will happen to me...that's impossible to do; I just wanted some first-hand accounts, if possible).