Running in Kuwait (Read 104 times)

duckman

The Irreverent Reverend

I’m a reserve component Soldier deploying soon to Kuwait. I’ll spend time at Camp Buehring, among other locations. Anyone have experience running there? How’s the air quality/pollution? Tips for managing the heat?

Thanks.

Husband. Father of three. Lutheran pastor. National Guardsman. Runner. Political junkie. Baseball fan.

Mriley16

I didn't run much in Kuwait,  but my 2-mile suffered tremendously in Iraq. I'm not sure if it was the particulate matter in the air or the dryness but I felt like I was hacking up a lung constantly.

Beuhring is in the middle of a pretty desolate stretch of desert and the heat and sand can be tremendously oppressive at times. If you're there anytime from now through September your runs will probably have to be either very late at night or very early in the morning. Sunset and dawn are weird in the desert as the horizon line is so flat and unobstructed so it seems like they last forever. The rest of the year it can actually get relatively cold so be prepared for that.

Hopefully you get a chance to see some sights while you're there. My command was pretty anal about us not getting into trouble with all the brass stalking around (Petraeus cut me in line at the chow hall one time). Nonetheless, I have fond memories of my time in Iraq/Kuwait. 

Godspeed Brother!

I’m a reserve component Soldier deploying soon to Kuwait. I’ll spend time at Camp Buehring, among other locations. Anyone have experience running there? How’s the air quality/pollution? Tips for managing the heat?

Thanks.

I was in the Died for all of 2017 and still ran.  Not 100% the same, but managed the heat. kinda, by running early.  The humidity in the summer was bad, but I just ran slower to deal.

chaplanger

Home from Iraq 2005