Steamtown Race Report (Read 610 times)

I've mostly been a lurker at RA, but have spent a lot of time on these messageboards, reading other people's thoughts and looking for advice on my own questions. I've read a lot of race reports, and am finally posting my own. I've been running for about 2 1/2 years, and always thought a Boston Qualifier would be a long, long time away for me. My first marathon was in 2006, 4:13. I ran a 4:10 in 2007, and this year a 3:28 in February, and a 3:19 in April. So I knew I was getting close (my qualifying time is 3:10). After doing some research, a lot on these messageboards, I decided Steamtown was going to be my first BQ attempt. I know the downhills could be painful, but I do a fair amount of hill training, and figured this course would be a better chance for me than a flat course. Drove to Scranton from Boston on Saturday morning, got some Olive Garden for dinner, and woke up at 5:15am on Sunday to head to the buses. Had some good conversations with people from all over on the bus ride over to the start. My favorite was Lonnie, who sat next to me. From Indianapolis, has finished marathons in all 50 states. He gave me some good advice for the race. Got to the start around 6:30am - got a cup of coffee, stretched for a looooong time, and then 'took care of business' in a bathroom in the high school (was happy to avoid the port-a-potties). At the start, felt great. The weather was perfect, I had a lot of adrenaline, and I felt strong from a good taper. Usually, I don't taper a whole lot - this time I only did a few miles on Monday and Wednesday, and took the rest of the week off. The beginning of Steamtown is very downhill, and I started off with a lot of miles around 6:50, way ahead of the 7:15 pace I needed. I tried finding a balance between taking it easy at the beginning, but also not 'braking' on the downhills. In retrospect, I think I went out a tiny bit too fast, but not too bad. I leveled off around mile 7, and ran 10 consecu