From couch potato to 8 day ultra marathon event (Read 3330 times)

Hi

I've been challenged by a friend to run the Goretex Trans Alpine Run in 2012. 270 km distance and 15 km altitude (total elevation gain) over 8 days. I've just posted my training schedule at: http://alpinerun.blogspot.com/2011/04/training-calendar.html

4360 km in 18 months. Doable? What do you guys think? Will I succeed at the challenge? I'm new to serious running, so would appreciated all feedback.

Thanks! Big grin

Running Blog: On my two feet

Beginner all over again

I suppose it depends on your fitness level and your body's tolerance to training?

If you listen to your body,

gradually increase

but  cutting back every few weeks for a "Lite week"

I'd say likely you will make a lot of progress over time.

Smile

A Saucy Wench

wow...I read the title as "from couch potato to ultra marathon in 8 days".   18 months sounds better!

More than anything focus on keeping most of your runs easy. No, easier than that.  NO, like you could take a nap while running easy.  Your biggest challenge is going to be to build a big base with no injuries.

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

Really the thing that matters most is how obsessive and stubborn you are. Those are the two traits that matter most in endurance runners: obsession primarily during the training and stubbornness mostly during the event.

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

Yeah, it may be less of the physical challenge than whether you get sufficiently obsessed with running to feel it's worth doing the ultra.  It could happen.  Good luck!

xor

>> 15 km altitude

Are you sure about this?

Do you mean total elevation gain perhaps?

NO, like you could take a nap while running easy. 

Thanks.

"If you have the fire, run..." -John Climacus