How do you stop getting bored? (Read 272 times)

Tiger Rag

Hi, newbie here!

I've been running since July 2011. The original plan was just one race... Some 30-40 races later, I'm still running. But I'm starting to get bored. How do people stop getting bored on their runs? I've recently taken up parkrun in an attempt to do something different. (My local one is trail and I don't get a chance to do trail elsewhere, really)

Part of the problem was joining a club in 2013 who decided that running was more important than other things and expected me to give up other hobbies and race on those nights instead. I got fed up and then left. I'm now at another club. But due to injuries, haven't been for about a year now.

Unfortunately, after doing the London Marathon last year, I kind of lost interest. I then got injured, (it turns out I have flat feet) I then entered a few half marathons, including one in Malta and due to having asthma, it made me rather ill. (I can't cope with the heat)

Thanks Smile

There are many ways to change things up to make your runs more exciting if your running is in a lull.   Run in different locations, with different people, without people, with music, listen to books on tape, run on a treadmill, run up and down hills, run at different times of day, run at different paces (i.e. fartlek).  Always carry a pair of running shoes and clothes in your car so when the mood strikes you will be ready to run.  Any sport can be boring if you continue to do it the same way all of the time.   And now for one last thought - what is wrong with boring?  Sometimes you can embrace the boring.  For many running is a time to meditate and clear their head so the boring can actually be good! 

"Shut up Legs!" Jens Voigt

I deal with boredom by making running useful, saving gas, and socializing.  I had one run that checked all boxes:

First to Radio Shack to check pricing on something.

Then to Walmart to get some dental floss.