Rapidly increasing mileage and pace (biking) (Read 2545 times)

lagwagon

A painful metatarsal head has prevented me from running for about 2 mos now. 

I tried swimming a few times but I dont love it, and thankfully now my MD has okay'd biking.

So today I tuned up my MTB and put on new road tires, had a nice 1hr ride through hills today.  Feeling sore in a good way (I earned my IPA today).  So I ask any experienced bikers here:

What kind of mileage / effort / frequency should I attempt as I get started?  most curious about frequency...how often and far the first few weeks, and how much to add thereafter.  

I'm in decent shape, was running 30mi/wk before the layoff.  I have some experience biking, but not a ton, mostly just recreational mountain biking.  I intend to listen to my legs, but dont mind pushing it within reason....just like I did with my foot.   XD

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

I wouldn't get too caught up in pace/distance #s--what you can do on a mountain bike is relative only to other mountain bikes of similar weight/wheel circ. and your own experience/fitness, the terrain, etc. (for instance, on the road my av. ride pace including stops and starts is generally around 16mph, but on my cyclocross bike on a mix of 2-track and pavement it's closer to 13mph...same rider, same fitness, different bikes and terrain).  Go by feel.  I started seriously riding almost exactly a year ago, after suffering a bad sprain during a trail relay.  IIRC I was running around 45mpw prior to the injury, but also riding well over 100.  3 weeks after the sprain I logged a >160 mile week on the bike, but I wasn't doing any running.  I had at least 1 200 mile week by the end of Summer.  The only thing really limiting me from having more of these weeks was time...cycling is a huge time sucker.