Max Heart Rate question (Read 1123 times)

I started running last year, and have run five 5Ks since September, including today's (another PR -- woo). I was surprised to see that at the end of today's race my max HR (as recorded by my trusty Garmin Forerunner 305) was a full six beats higher than I've ever seen it. (189 today vs. 183 previously).

I don't want this to start another debate about HR training, or whether or not max HR means anything, etc. (I've searched and read through previous posts, so I'm familiar with the various points of view.) Bottom line is that I do use my HR as a rough guide to understanding my current state of fitness, and I do compare it with the various formulas, many of which are based on max HR. I'm still a noob so it's helpful to have guidelines, even if I don't always follow them.

Primarily I'm interested in this: one thing I thought I understood was that max HR doesn't change with fitness -- it's something that is primarily set via genetics and age. So what's going on in my case?

My hunch is that prior to today, my overall fitness wasn't to the level at which I could push hard enough to reach my true max HR. Does that make any sense? I suppose one could argue that I just hadn't pushed hard enough in the previous races. But trust me when I say, I felt like I was dying at the end of each race (that's how I know I'm doing it right Wink Wink.

Any ideas?

DanMoriarity

Congrats on your new PR!

I'd say your hunch is bang on. Your fitness has likely to improved to the point where you can push a little harder in races. Your max. heart rate doesn't change that much but I do find a bit of variability from week to week in the rate I can reach at the end of a race or really tough workout, and I think that's what you're experiencing. Either way, a couple of beats here or there isn't going to make a big difference to your standard training paces.

jules2