Energy Boost Food (Read 257 times)

Encouragement welcome

I ran a 5k Saturday morning, and before I had finished the first quarter mile, I was dead tired.  It was like I hadn't had any food at all.  I'd had water, a cup of coffee, a bowl of oatmeal (3 hours before race time) and a protein bar 2 hours before race time.  Oh, and a package of  Clif Shot Bloks about 15 minutes before the race.  Any suggestions for pre-run food that will definitely make me feel the energy?  What I had didn't work at all.  I felt like my entire body was made of lead, and I had a very strong desire to just quit where I was and sit on the sidewalk.  I wound up with an average pace of 14.5 min/mile.

Pace Goal : 14 mm

5k Goal: 40 minutes

10k, half, and marathon someday....

(Hey, I'm just getting started!)

I always try to drink a Shamrock shake on the way to the race....

But , seriously, what had you eaten for the two or three days before the race? The stuff you eat the morning of the race isn't going to undo any calorie deficit you incurred for days leading up to the race. 

Oh, and don't take this the wrong way, but if your log is accurate, I'm not sure what you'd expect since it doesn't appear that you're training. Nog a dig, just an observation. And, it doesn't appear that you did any warmup before the race. If you didn't warm up, the first 1/4 mile is going to feel bad. 

I try to eat decent most of the time with the occasional pizza or triple burger thrown in the mix, but I truly start a really good eating pattern beginning the week of my race.  I make sure to get plenty of good carbs and protein in me throughout the day, not just dinner.  For snacks during the day, I like to get fruits and raw veggies to make sure I'm getting my vitamin C and other vital nutrients.  Not only is eating right all week essential, but you need to make sure you're getting plenty of water too.  Hydrate those muscles throughout the week.

Runslowalksalot