Half Marathon Panic (Read 1457 times)

running hawk

Im very new to running and Im starting to panic. Ive been running for about 12 weeks now, from overweight couch potato status. I made a goal of completing a half marathon and am registered and set to go for Oct 13th. Everything has been going pretty well so far, Ive battled through some foot pain early on and then some IT band issues, but nothing I couldn't overcome.

Two Saturdays ago I peaked my miles per week at 25 miles per week. I finished an 11 mile long run and felt good, though I was really sore. I felt a moderate amount of pain in my knee (not IT band) even on Monday, two days later, so I took it off. This took a day off my training and lowered my MPW, but I was still able to complete a planned 12 mile run last Saturday on a somewhat hilly course. After that long run, though, the knee pain came back. It's not severe, but not trivial either, and it lingered around on Monday as well so I took it off.

Now Im starting to freak out. The extra rest is helping, I was able to do my run yesterday, and the knee pain is only slight today. Tomorrow I should feel fine for another run. But I'm worried that I'm losing fitness and won't be prepared to finish my HM.

I'm fairly certain this is an overuse injury. If I wasn't so close to the HM I would simply cut back my mpw and add in a little more rest til my knee adapts. I don't want to further injure my knee and risk my HM, but I don't want to lose fitness and be unable to finish the HM. So how should I handle the time that's left? Should i start to taper now? Should I be worried about the missed runs?

Sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance for any advice.

mikeymike

If you can run 12 miles in training now you can finish your half marathon on October 13th. So don't worry about losing fitness in the next 2 weeks, just do what you have to do to let your knee calm down.  Ice it, elevate it and add in a little more rest.