What are the most common real foods at Ultra aid stations? (Read 93 times)

Stevepf

I am new to Ultras. My longest training runs (actually run/walk) are now getting to be over four hours. I figure I should start fueling these with real foods rather than the gels and sports drinks I would take on a long run of lesser duration. It makes sense to start with the ones I am most likely to encounter at aid stations.

So the question: Which foods do you see most commonly being offered?

If you could give me just a couple from the categories of savory and sweet I'll start with those.

Thanks!

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

You might be better served by trying various foods that you like and discovering which sit well during a training run.  Then you can supply your own at races and be assured you'll have something you can stomach.

There will be some regional variation as well as a varying number of choices, some races providing a wide selection and others the bare minimum.  Common foods include bananas and oranges, cookies, M&Ms, Twizzlers, PB&J, chips, boiled potatoes and salt.  You may also get hot soup, burritos, burgers, and pizza at longer races.  Drink choices often include Coke, Mt Dew, and ginger ale besides water and a sports drink.  You need to see which sports drinks you can tolerate because you can't count on your favorite being the one that is offered, and may have to supply your own.

Some races will post a menu so you can see what's available and supplement it if needed.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
            05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

runlikeagirI

Savory - Bacon, potato (dipped in salt....mmmm), avocado wraps, cheese quesadillas

Sweet - PBJ sandwiches, bananas, watermelon, m&ms, gummy bears

Running Problem

Problem Child

Whiskey.