custom split time question (Read 1040 times)

Wing

Joggaholic

I've been playing with my new Garmin 405 for about 2 months now, and I have been using the auto-lap function to record splits every mile. It is useful, but now I'm getting picky and wishing for more features. In addition to the mile laps, I wish I can also get the time at every 5k, and at the 13.1 mile mark. I don't think it can be done on the watch other than manually pressing the lap button at those distances, and I don't really want to pay attention to and fiddle with my watch while running. So I guess it comes down to what I can do with the gps data post-run. I can't seem to find a way to manipulate the data on the garmin connect site or on RA after uploading the tcx file. Since the gps records every 4 seconds or so, I assume it is possible to calculate these custom splits? Are there any existing tools online that can do this? Thanks.

(I know I don't really need that much info from my runs, and I actually don't make use of them as a feedback to my training anyway. But as a data junkie I just want them for no real practical reason...)

SportTracks does that.  But I'm not sure that the same utility exists on RA.

"I want you to pray as if everything depends on it, but I want you to prepare yourself as if everything depends on you."

-- Dick LeBeau

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

If you find an answer, consider posting it here, because I've sometimes wished I could see split times for track workouts.

It's a 5k. It hurt like hell...then I tried to pick it up. The end.

Like the other poster said, SportTracks is a great utility for that. You can get custom splits based off of your gps data. It's software though, not a website. 

Try out www.endomondo.com or www.strava.com if you just want your splits. I recommend RA way over those others for your tracker, but in terms of custom splits those other sites have the capability.

Running my way to being a little less fat.

AmoresPerros