interval training? (Read 891 times)

Hi everyone! I'm new to running. My approach so far has been to run at a slow speed for as long as I can hold out. My hope is to gradually build my endurance and then work on speed. However I've been googling around and found a lot of recommendations saying you should run for a minute or so at a higher speed, walk a minute, repeat. I find this to be torture. Will doing my method work or is it necessary for me to do the interval thing to become better? Any training advice would be appreciated! Thanks! - Lisa

Will doing my method work or is it necessary for me to do the interval thing to become better? Any training advice would be appreciated! Thanks! - Lisa
      Lisa, It depends entirely upon your goals. I think that for most of your runs, you should stick to just running at a slow speed for as long as you can hold out, or at least for a length of time. If you are trying to lose weight or to get faster, or to become healthier, then intervals will be your best friend (even if they are tougher!) Since you are new to running, you probably do not need to worry about interval workouts too much. You are going to see a lot of gains just because you are out there. Rather than going as long as you can, though, you might want to start mixing in walking breaks. Run a tiny bit quicker (but not enough to be complete torture) for 5 minutes or so, then walk for a minute, etc. You really do not need a huge base to start doing intervals, and they will help your running at any level that you do them. If you want to know a bit more about them, read this article: http://news.runtowin.com/2007/05/14/answers-for-the-top-questions-about-interval-training.html It will probably tell you more than you really need or want to know, especially as a new runner, but it answers the questions that I am asked the most frequently about intervals.

Run to Win
      25 Marathons, 17 Ultras, 16 States (Full List)

Thanks for the advice + article.