Suunto Ambit 2R Question... (Read 83 times)

gone2run

I have the Garmin Forerunner 10, and like it very much--it is simple, and accurate.  I recently bought the Suunto Ambit 2R, and am thinking of returning it.  What do you think of the top and bottom portions of the readout?  I have not yet run with the watch (got it yesterday), but these readouts seem small.

Also, I was reading last night that the Ambit 2R can be a bit "long" in measuring distance. Thus, for example, the Garmin this person tested it against would measure, say, 10 miles, while the Ambit 2R would measure something like 10.15 miles.  The Ambit 2R was consistently "longer" than the Garmin.  For me, I would rather my watch be "conservative" in terms of distance.  I calculated that over a six mile run, and this type of discrepancy would be about 10 seconds of pace (i.e. 7:00 pace vs. 6:50 pace).

I welcome your comments--thanks.

Feeling the growl again

I have no experience with the unit, but I will comment that it is hard to say one GPS is better than the other based on the information you have.  First, did the tester with both units have the smoothening features of the watch set the same?  And did they run each watch several times over a course of known distance to verify which distance was accurate?  If the course really was closer to 10.15 miles, then the Suunto is not measuring long, the Garmin is measuring short.

One has to realize that an error of about 1% is inherent (and advertised) in most of these units.  Over 10 miles that's 0.1 miles.  So if two watches read 0.1 miles different, it essentially means nothing since both are within the expected error margin.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

gone2run