Question about running surfaces (Read 1064 times)

nancyw

Hi, I'm new to running. I'm on week 2 of the couch to 5K program. I have been running on my treadmill, but I find it very uncomfortable and would like to start running outdoors. Here is my question: I live way out in the country and I am surrounded by gravel roads! Is there anyone out there that runs on gravel? This is actual road gravel, in some places it is loose and in others it is packed down like cement. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated. Smile Thanks.
    zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

I'll give backroadsrunner a heads-up to your question. She does a lot of running on rough roads and gravel. I personally don't like getting off the pavement much, but a lot of that is just because I'm not as accustomed to it. When I have to run on the shoulder it often causes me new aches and pains, since it uses muscles that I don't otherwise give much work to. I generally find that the looser the terrain (sand, gravel), the more miserable I am. k

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

nancyw

Thanks K, I'm mostly worried about injuring myself and not being able to run for awhile and blowing it off!
        zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

I think if you are careful and "listen" to your body that you will be alright. Your body will become accustomed to whatever terrain you consistently throw at it. If I made a point of running on a wider variety of terrain I would probably like running on non-paved surfaces a lot more than I do, LOL! Wink k

~ Sarah Kay

vicentefrijole