Increase speed or increase distance? (Read 1302 times)

Splish

[Disclaimer: I am a beginner runner (started in June) but I have some distance running experience (two years of HS track, three of XC, twenty-five years ago). So I may or may not know what I'm talking about.]

As a beginner I think a big part of becoming a runner is getting your fitness, habits, and self-image up-to-date. Runners continue to run because they are in the habit of running, and they are fit--so it doesn't feel *that* bad--and it's part of their self-image.For those attributes I'd stick to easy runs and work towards consistency.

At the beginner level, it's not so much what you're running, it's whether you are running at all. Just getting your shoes on and getting out the door takes a not-insignificant mental effort at this stage of the game. Repeated easy runs builds confidence and habits while keeping the intimidation level at a flat curve. Also, some days it's going to rain, it's going to be cold. These are the things that make beginners skip workouts. Getting out there despite challenging conditions is easier if you're used to doing it everyday and you're comfortable in what's on the menu for today's workout. Further, consistent easy running builds your fitness level while developing your ligament, tendon and skeletal strength, all of which can lag behind cardiovascular fitness.

I'm doing a lot of easy runs and little to no speedwork because my slowness isn't due to lack of 400m intervals, it's because I'm too fat. Many people who are starting to run have at least one foot in my boat.. It makes little sense to emphasize speedwork over longer easy runs when you're overweight.

Good thread Smile  enjoying this ongoing discussion

runnerclay

Consistently Slow