Sudden Extreme Drop in Performance (Read 875 times)

Joel Lynn

This is my first year as a college runner. My 8k times in my first 3 races were 28:20, 27:07, and 27:12. During a 2 week break from racing I began to feel sluggish on workouts, and eventually easy runs. My next race was a 30:35 with the last 3 miles at 6:30 pace (only 30 seconds faster than easy running pace). Since then I have been struggling to complete any run and am keeping up about 8:30-9 minute pace for 3-4 miles and then feeling exhausted.  Does anyone have any explanations of what could be wrong? I've been running 65 miles a week since about halfway through the summer. My mileage is similar to my junior and senior years in high school, but the intensity is higher, and easy runs are much faster than I'm used to. I was tested for low iron levels last year, and I was fine. So I do not believe that that is the problem. Thanks for any suggestions.

mikeymike

Mono?

Runners run

Anemic?

Not enough food/calories?

JML

Ferritin levels?

Go see the doc and get some bloodwork

Rebuilding my aerobic base....racing next year.....nothing to see here....move along now.