Encouragement for Older Runners - New PR at age 49 (Read 155 times)

Great job.

all my PR were in the 80s

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

Great job.

Hope I can set some PRs when I'm in my 80s! Wink

1980s

Great job.

Me, too. In my twenties. Not gonna beat THOSE anytime ever.

But I discovered a work-around; running distances I've never done before! Guaranteed PR!

60-64 age group  -  University of Oregon alumni  -  Irreverent and Annoying

arunnerd

Roads Scholar

But I discovered a work-around; running distances I've never done before! Guaranteed PR!

My work-around is to reset for every age group.

I know many people like to use age grading to compare performances at various ages/gender.  I don't like the way age grading is done, comparing to exceptional runners.  I would much prefer to use percentiles by age but those data are not easy to find.  One source is https://runrepeat.com/how-do-you-masure-up-the-runners-percentile-calculator.

Like the OP, my 45-49 y.o. self could out run my 15-20 y.o. self at most distances.  Back in the day I treated running XC and track as just staying in shape for other sports.  I guess I was a slacker and didn't really appreciate running like I do now.  I remember running 5 miles in training, like twice, and thinking our coach was a miserable bleeping sadist.

I strive towards laconic wit, my wife says I'm halfway there.

arunnerd.blogspot.com

M58

When I got bored and played around with an age-grading calculator I found my highest score was about 93;  an 800m when I was 17. Even my trials-qualifying Steeple was a point or two lower. All my other various PRs range from 88-91. Current fitness level for things 3-10k is about 70-73 AG result. But I have a disclaimer/excuse; I haven't been able to train much, or consistently!

True!  Did my 100 and 100k races in my 50s.

4/14/24 Napa Valley 50k, Calistoga, CA

7/20/24 Tahoe Rim Trail 56 miler, NV

9/21/24 Mountain Lakes 100, OR

arunnerd

Roads Scholar

M58