Year-Round Training Plan (Read 96 times)

astrodanzz

I've been running fairly seriously for the past two years and just completed my second marathon (Berlin!).  It was a great event and I was happy with my time (3:21), and at this point I'm looking to attempt to become more disciplined and methodical throughout the year.  To this end, I know specific targets need to vary throughout the year to maximize all-around fitness, but have struggled to find a definitive plan outlining how to go about this.  I do strength training, but in terms of how to mix up my running schedule throughout the year, I'm not exactly clear about how to do this.

Tentatively, over the next 12 months I'm envisioning 3 months post-marathon mid-range mileage (while the weather is decent), 2 months low-mileage/offseason, 3 months pre-marathon mid-range mileage, 4 months high-intensity marathon training.

Any guidance on how to flesh out a more specific plan to maximize overall running fitness?

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

One thing you could do is to build a framework for your running/training schedule using other, shorter races.  Maybe a spring half marathon interspersed with 10ks and 5ks. Some of the shorter races can be speed work in your build for the marathon.  Then, most of your other running should probably be easy base-building work. A race each month can help you gauge your progress at various distances and paces, and can provide plenty of motivation as well.

Congrats on your Berlin performance!

astrodanzz