Question about reducing weight loss (Read 104 times)

Ferryman

I've been running every day for the last 4 months.

While I can't feel any drawbacks, I lost 10 pounds in the last month. (21 pounds in 4 months.) My doctor raised it as a concern. 

Have you experienced a similar issue? Let me know.

I want to know:

* How to increase calorie intake without feeling "sick" or constantly full... and...
    * How many calories I should eat in a day.

Note: I am 16 years old and run about 7 miles each day. I weigh 110 pounds.

I'm grateful for any advice you give.

an amazing likeness

Didn't you post this same question a few months ago saying you've lost 15 pounds? Now another 21 pounds.  At this rate, you'll hit negative weight soon.

Apparently, over the last few months I lost almost 15 pounds... and there's no doubt it's because of running. 

This is no big deal for me now... but I want to be sure I'm knowledgeable about the way running affects weight.... and how to prevent long-term, unwanted weight loss.

Can anyone give me some tips? Or direct me to some good information? All help is greatly appreciated.

(Note: I run about 7 miles a day. Anywhere between 4.5-8.)

What did you find valuable or actionable in the time, effort and care people took in previous responses?

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

SMART Approach

I am less concerned about your total number than your continued losses. Do you still have your "cycle"? What is your height? What is your reason for running 50 miles a week at 16? Are you a top runner on your x country team or is there another motivation? Your weight loss is not all about running? Your health should be your priority and remember your body is still developing. Treat it well and that means eating enough good nutrition to not lose weight. More proteins and healthy fats and fruits. With your activity, 2500 calories is the minimum.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery