Heavy squats & deadlifts (Read 257 times)

Still kicking

Thanks Sdizazzo!

One thing I can tell you from actual experience, and with almost complete certainty, is that if you are going for heavy squat one rep PR's, you won't get anywhere near Boston qualifying run training in. Not even close. If there are exceptions to this, I've not heard of it. Lifting and running can work well together, but not power lifting and competitive running. And I would certainly put Boston Qualifying in the competitive running category (but not elite running). Just my own experience. When I was lifting heavy, on a 3 week cycle for squat and bench PR's, my bodyweight got as high as 193 (still lean). There was no way I could put in the hard miles and spicific run workouts, needed to run a BQ (3:00 at the time) in fact It was very hard for me to run a 4:00 marathon while maintaining my heavy lifting schedule. By comparison, before I started lifting, I weighted 140, and was a sub 3 hour marathoner. That was all 20-30 years ago. I feel fortunate that I was healthy enough to experience both extremes. Now at in my mid 50's, at 145 pounds, and running well, and lifting moderately (and rarely heavy) I'm maintaining a balance I really like. And… hope to qualify for Boston this fall.

I'm also on Athlinks and Strava

Not dead. Yet.