[Training for a Full Marathon] I need help with an injury, pain in lower calf. (Read 145 times)

ledfortr

Hey all, first off, thank you for the help and time.

I'll get right to it, here is the problem.  I am an intermediate runner, I have been running on/off for 10 years.  I have ran 4 1/2 Marathons. When I am not training for something, I run 13.1 every week just to maintain.   I have tried training for a marathon a couple times but just can't seem to do it without injury.

I am 6'2, 185lbs and 39

I started training for the Columbus marathon about 3-4 weeks ago.  I am starting to feel an old injury kind of creeping up that took me out of the race training last year.  The pain is in my right calf.  It feels like its pretty close to the bone. I don't feel it when I am running, I feel it whenever I stop.  It typically doesn't happen until my mileage gets up over about the 14 mile run mark.  I have a 15 miler tomorrow morning and I felt it a little on my pace training yesterday.

I have seen several docs and had xrays.  The only thing that they have said is that one leg is shorter than the other and my body needs to account for that and train slowly, which I believe I am doing.  Most of them just recommend stretches and tell me to take it slow.

My plan calls for 3 runs per week (I can't fit in any more) adding 1 mile per week to my long run and keeping my tempo and pace runs pretty similar, maybe adding 1 mile to those every 2 weeks.  I am running a total of 32 miles per week at this point.