Running on the Beach (Read 755 times)

dynnuf

Hi all - Does anyone have experience running in the sand on the beach? Can/should you run barefoot and any thoughts on which part of the sand to run on: wet, dry/wet, or dry(impossible!)? I read that running in the sand takes about 1.6x more effort than the same distance on the road, but does that count for the wet or dry sand? Last, for barefoot running, I read many things that said it can be very good for your feet muscles etc, but I am slightly flatfooted - is this the kind of thing that could build up my arch a little if I dont rush into it? Thoughts and comments would be great! Thanks.
      Hello! I'm no expert but I'm blessed to have miles and miles of sandy beaches and dunes only a couple of hundred yards from my house so I mix that into my training whenever I can. Barefoot running I don't know; only thing is depending on the cleanliness of your beach and water you might be at possible risk should you cut yourself. I don't have that problem here as the sea and beach are clean but the grass which hold the dunes together is mighty sharp and often cuts into my calves and so I wouldn't fancy runnning barefoot around it!! However I've heard it's good for your feet and especially the skin on your feet (like a foot scrub and massage, bliss!!). Beach wise I've read and to a small degree experienced the effect of the camber on the beach. I run on the firmer stuff which tends to have a bit of a camber due to it being tidal. I try to keep it flat as possible as after a while you'll feel your cartilage start to grumble. Just the same as running on a road with a camber you shouldn't have too long a period in one single orientation. As I say, I run on the firmer stuff when on the waterfront which gives a nice bit of cushioning but doesn't suck the life out of your legs (this is where I go to do distance). The softer stuff and especially climbing dunes which are exclusivley soft is VERY hard work. If I want to really get worki