Classical Music (Read 649 times)

bhearn

He got the colors mixed up on the keys.  You should take it back.

Yeah. That was my bad. Flemish harpsichord, French-style keyboard. But it was done sometimes.

Orff's Carmina Burana is a great work, and I think it is well accessible for neophytes.

Graet stuff

(Spelling,schmelling)

And for the record, it's Franz Josef Haydn.

Haydn smaydn, Hayden/smayden

Give Beethoven's late quartets a shot.  I think too many people dismiss the big guy because of the popularity of his symphonies.  

Also Bartok's string quartets... all of 'em. 

MTA: And, of course the famous Ravel and Debussy quartets! 

These will bend your ears around- all good suggestions.

Yeah. This is a harpsichord.

Nice- serious business there.

speedgoggles

I love that harpsichord.  Wow!!!

Myself, I am a guitarist who has just switched to violin.

And I am smiiten with the thing... So expressive.

I love everything Bach.

And my current other favourite is Heifetz's transcription of  the Prokofiev March.

Damn, bhearn, nice instrument.  And I thought I was unusual as a classical guitarist.  

"Because in the end, you won't remember the time you spent working in the office or mowing your lawn.  Climb that goddamn mountain."

Jack Kerouac

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

What would you all suggest as an introduction to classical music? There are a few pieces I enjoy like The Nutcracker and Peer Gynt, but generally I'm ignorant in the area. I tend to listen more to folk, Celtic, and 60s music when I listen.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
                        05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

Wandering Wally

I might start here:  http://classicalmusic.about.com/od/classicalmusic101/u/classicalmusic101.htm