Tempo workout (Read 143 times)

MohMinnesota

Hey Folks,

I have a question about tempo workouts. I'm a newbie at this! I probably started doing these last year.

I would call mine a classic, 4-5 miles (or 32-40 min) at HMP after 2-3 warm-up miles.

For the past few months, I keep reading about a tempo workout integrated into a LR; aerobic then LT then aerobic then LT then cool down.

I also read that some folks like to do a progression tempo instead of one pace.

I guess my question is to you, what sort of tempo workout are you currently doing? And do you vary your tempo workouts?

Thanks,,,

10K: (44:33)   13.1 (1:41:48)    26.2 - TwinCities17 (3:49:07) 

ilanarama

Pace Prophet

I like a combination! :-)

I mostly do the sort of tempo you do.  But sometimes I like to split it up, i.e. instead of 40 minutes HMP I do 2x20 with a 3 minute jog in the middle, or even 2x25 - that lets me do a longer workout.  Sometimes I do tempo intervals (cruise intervals) such as 3x1 mile with jogs between; this is a good way to transition from shorter faster intervals to tempos. Sometimes I do Magness-style lactate clearance tempos, which involve (after a warmup) alternating slightly faster than HMP with slightly slower than HMP.  Sometimes I do workouts including both HMP and MP (one of my sharpening pre-marathon workouts is 3 easy, 4MP, 2HMP, easy).   Lots of ways to do threshold work!

T Hound

Slower but happier

I have used daniels as a guide in past, but this block doing Pfitz. I dont run HMP because he advises the pace to be what you would run in 60 minutes, if u are racing, and, well, lets just say im not quite there with my HM time. ( Pfitz say 15k to HMP as the zone w HMP for elites and 10-15 sec slower than 10k pace for us mortals Wink.