Long run: finish strong or finish when exhausted? (Read 154 times)

sukesh

I have been frequently posting questions in this community and I have been receiving encouraging responses. I have improved a lot since my early days, thanks to the great advice the runners here provide.

I just came back after my long run. I had a set distance in mind (a distance I had never attempted before), and was surprised to find that my legs were  fresh and I was not out of breath towards the end (really felt like a strong finish). I was tempted to run a little longer but decided not to.

Do you think it's a good idea to push ahead, if really can? Or should I limit my runs distances, adding short increments?

I am 21 year old who runs 3 times a week(which I alternate with gyms sessions). I am relatively new to running, my long run today was 7.55km(4.7 miles) which I completed in 58min.

Thanks in advance!

- Sukesh

dhuffman63

Trails

Personally I'd keep the strong finish going.  As you get closer to the "exhausted" line you get closer to getting injured.  At 21 you have a long time as a runner and there is no rush.

stadjak

Interval Junkie --Nobby

I find the best way is to follow a plan made by a professional coach (found free on the internet).  Take something like "first half-marathon" and adjust to your particular goals.  It's the best way to improve.  If you're already doing that, then I'd say "stick to the prescribed workout", because over-doing it because you feel great one day, usually ends up ruining another workout in the week as you "pay for" your exuberance.

However, if you're not on any plan, with no particular objectives: then I'd say "go for it" when you feel good.  Just realize your next couple runs might be affected.  Rest a bit.  And you'll be fine.

2021 Goals: 50mpw 'cause there's nothing else to do

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?