When you go for your run, do you start running right away? (Read 1650 times)

A is A

I walk to the end of the block stretching a bit and then I usually start slowly (very light effort) for at least the first mile. That's about how long it takes me to warm up and then I can settle into a faster pace/ harder effort. I always count the light effort toward my overall distance. I'm just a novice so any running is running to me.

TRIing to beat the heat!

I usually walk for about 0.2 to 0.3 miles and then I start out with a slow run. I start my watch when the slow run begins, so my overall run pace is probably off; however, that bit of inaccuracy doesn't bother me since I consistently do it for every run. I used to stretch quite a bit before my runs, but now I just do a kneeling hip flexor stretch on each side and then let the walk and early part of my run take care of the rest. Smile

2012 Goals

Sub-1:42 for half marathon √ (1:41 at Disney, Jan '12)

Sub-22 for 5k √ (21:51 in Sept '12)

BQ for marathon- FAIL

CindyO

I always walk the first block or two before running. I combine the running total with the walking total when I record my work-out. All walking before running is recorded with the walking time of my work-out and all running of blocks, even alternating, are recorded under the running time of my work-out. Cindy Odenthal Surprised Surprised Smile
          I walk almost two blocks (about 8 minutes) to warm up and then run. I don't log it. I started this after having a couple of small injuries (calf muscle pull, sore hamstring) and have had no trouble since.

The Greatest of All Time

I run, but as others have written it takes about 1/2 mile to loosen up.
            all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be

Obesity is a disease. Yes, a disease where nothing tastes bad...except salads.

Think Whirled Peas