Overtrained? (Read 160 times)

RunsOnStarbux

Hi there. Looking for some opinions of more experienced marathoners out there.  I'm three weeks away from my second marathon.  Built up gradually to higher volume this time around and have felt great for the most part. Hit my highest volume week including my second 20, and then bonked the following week, both physically and mentally. Spent the week feeling chronically fatigued and just not "in the game" mentally. I believe I possibly over-trained, in terms of not allowing myself as much recovery as I needed in these last few weeks of my buildup. Anyway-- I'm officially in taper now, and wondering if I should stick to my original taper plan, or be even more aggressive with the rest. In short, should my 3 weeks of taper be enough to give life back to these legs? Obviously no way to say for sure, but looking for anyone out there who may have had similar over-training experiences...

Joann Y

I'm not that experienced, but I am in the same place as you (3 weeks of taper) and felt the same way at the beginning of last week. I proclaimed that I wanted to quit. Then proceeded to run my best half marathon to date on Sunday. I'm no expert, but it seems we may be exactly where we need to be.

Please provide the experienced folks with a little more background on your running history.  What is your normal volume, what have you run in the last 6 months, your goals, how did that last long run go compared with the previous ones etc, to get additional help beyond what Joann provided.

If you've run in the recent hot weather, its very possible that you pushed yourself into a bit of over trained state, but then maybe that's how you are supposed to feel before tapering.  Hopefully it will cool down a bit over the next three weeks and you'll have a great race.

RunsOnStarbux