Starting Pens! (Read 98 times)

dpsm44

Hey, I need some advice. I'm running my first Half Marathon race in a few weeks. My goal / desired time is 1hr 30 mins, but all my current training and form suggest I can do sub 1hr 30, I'm thinking around 1hr 25 is possible. However, I've been placed in a starting pen that is 1hr 45mins. I'm worried about not being able to reach my desired time from that starting pen? I can't change it now as it's too late. Is that too far back, or will it be okay? I've never done such a big event before and don't know how quickly the field will spread out. Any advice?

Christirei

ultimately, your time is determined by your timing chip, so whenever you cross the start/finish lines. just  make sure you are close to the front of your pen and remember, everyone.... everyone. starts out to fast. so those 1:45 runners will start at a 1:20 pace and realize about a mile and a half in that they can't maintain that pace for the whole half. you will be fine

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

First see if you can get a last minute change at packet pickup. If not, be sure to line up at the front so you don't get boxed in by slower runners.  There will undoubtedly be some in your pen that will start too fast, or perhaps be in the same situation as you. Ignore them and run your own race. It will be very tempting to start too fast with slower runners around you. In one way being in a slower pen might help you later in the race as you catch up to runners from the faster pens and have an incentive to catch and pass them.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K
              05/25 - What the Duck 12-Hour

06/17 - 6 Days in the Dome 12-Hour.

Yooper3.1

I was going to recommend Mont Blanc, but now I see this thread is about something else.

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

I bet it'll be fine. Starting slow is not a bad thing, and as the pack thins out, you can gradually increase to your goal pace. Let us know how it goes.