Weight Lifting Programs for Runners (Read 245 times)

ud32

Anyone use any lifting programs that are designed for us runners? I see "programs" in magazines or websites all the time that are not the boring 3x8 lifting routines but am reluctant to risk overtraining to the detriment of my running. At the same time some of these programs look interesting and not the same old routine over and over.

I like to run 4 days a week for about 25 miles/week. Any suggestions please share. Thanks in advance!

I'm a personal trainer and I design personalized strength training programs as part of my business.  I've done many programs for entire track teams in my past life as a coach and currently work with several recreational runners.  If you're interested, here is a link to my site:

http://nessxv.wixsite.com/jamie-ness-training

As for free advice, it all depends on what you're trying to accomplish.  Without knowing your goals, my best generic advice is to make sure you recover from your workouts, whether they are running or lifting.  It is a common mistake to think that one activity is separate from the other.  Yes they will affect your body in different ways but they have to be balanced to get the desired effect, whatever that is.  While weights can certainly enhance your running, if your main goal is to drop your 5k time, or build up mileage for a marathon, then make sure your weights don't interfere with your running progression.

SMART Approach

Anyone use any lifting programs that are designed for us runners? I see "programs" in magazines or websites all the time that are not the boring 3x8 lifting routines but am reluctant to risk overtraining to the detriment of my running. At the same time some of these programs look interesting and not the same old routine over and over.

I like to run 4 days a week for about 25 miles/week. Any suggestions please share. Thanks in advance!