running shoes (Read 69 times)

rice

I am a 71 year old runner I overpronate I have been running in Brooks since 1981. I started running in beast with the Spinco . Inserts  when the Beast first came out. I went to a running store and the did the stand on the foot analyzer thing and the recommended Hoka gaviota 4 shoe. I have run in them twice they feel ok on my feet but after running my calves and legs are really sore. Should I go back to the Brooks beast or stay with the Hoka ? Is the Hoka a stability shoe on par with the beast?

The Hoka has a lower drop, and well work your calves more than the Beast, which has a very high drop. (you probably already know what drop is, but in case others are wondring, it's the "drop" between the height of cushioning in the heel to the height at the ball of the foot; a 30mm heel and 20mm forefoot has a 10mm drop)

You should gradually wear your new shoes more, like once for every 3-4 times you wear your old shoes, working up to 50/50 over a few weeks, and eventually just the new shoes. Most people have 2-4 different kinds of shoes and rotate them so they never wear the same pair/model twice in a row.

60-64 age group  -  University of Oregon alumni  -  Irreverent and Annoying

rice

could the difference in the drop of the Brooks and the Hoka cause back pain. I started running in the Hoka and  I noticed later in the dau I started getting back pain

Yes. There is a big difference between the 4mm drop Hokas and the 12mm drop in the Beast. It can activate all kinds of different muscle groups that were not being worked as much with the Beast. The same could be said going cold-turkey from the 4mm to the 12mm without easing into it.

This article specifically mentions going from a 12mm to a 4mm:

https://lets-run.co.uk/blogs/lets-run-blog/what-is-heel-drop-and-how-much-do-you-need

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25